Shortcuts
Please wait while page loads.
LiberoBanner . Default .
PageMenu- Main Menu-
Page content

Catalogue Display

The bear and the nightingale / Katherine Arden.

The bear and the nightingale / Katherine Arden.
.
Item Information
Date Barcode Shelf Location Collection Volume Ref. Branch Status Due Date Reserve
6 Feb 2017 006881275 ARDE
Adult Fiction   Nowra . . Available .  
6 Feb 2017 006881371 ARDE
Adult Fiction   Kiama . . On Loan . 2 Jan 2018
6 Feb 2017 006881320 ARDE
Adult Fiction   Ulladulla . . On Loan . 2 Jan 2018
. Catalogue Record 828824 ItemInfo Beginning of record . Catalogue Record 828824 ItemInfo Top of page .
Catalogue Information
Field name Details
Shelf Location ARDE
Author Arden, Katherine
Title The bear and the nightingale / volume Katherine Arden.
Publication Details London Del Rey, 2017.
Format 324 pages ; 22 cm.
Notes A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern'sThe Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind--she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil. After Vasilisa's mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa's new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows. And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa's stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for marriage or confinement in a convent. As danger circles nearer, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed--this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse's most frightening tales.
Scoop Holdings NSCO
Links to Related Works
Subject References:
Authors:
Catalogue Information 828824 Beginning of record . Catalogue Information 828824 Top of page .